I’ve always dreamed of a sort of pins on a map depiction of all the “artivism” that occurred in Los Angeles during the era I study the 1970s and 1980s.

This desire has merged with concerns I had after viewing PST in LA which depicted overlapping art commuities as discrete entities in separate exhibitions.  This more recent concern builds on my ongoing conviction that art-activist practices are subsumed, refigured, and forgotten by subsequent social movements (as in the OWS movement).

So harnassing new technologies (LOW LOW tech google maps right now to use with Stus, merged into Hypercities) I’ve started to map the sites of art activism (mostly feminist) in Los Angeles.

I’m looking for collaborators to take on art activism connected to any social movement from the 1960s to the present in any city!

some examples

mural locations
sites of performance as protest
street art
alternative art organizations/exhibtion sites
festivals or other public events

