This post is part of a series of posts I am writing as part of the “Day of Digital Humanities” project hosted by the University of Alberta. The #DayofDH project features blog posts and reflections by digital humanities academics for the day of March 27, 2012. [description from @adelinekoh because I’m going too fast to write my own!)

Neophyte’s view of the digital humanities explains my entry

I’m on sabbatical and set out to have “doing” digital be part of my project.  One of the discoveries I’ve made is that “doing” digital has to be view as “part” of my work, not as a distraction to it. 

6AM wake up, check twitter, @adelinekoh asks if I’m participating in #DayOfDH.  Having misunderstood the event as teaching based I’d not signed up, but I decide to.  From 6-7AM draft blog post. lesson #1, digital is easier if you are a fluent writer
8 AM blog post up, and posted on twitter.   In honor of #DayOfDH I decide to set aside my sabbatical academic writing project in favor of several projects I’ve been working on that involve various digital avenues.  One is a book review for the blog #USIH and the other is to see if Tom Dublin over at WASM is interested in a Twitter presence for the project and to inquire about possibilities for text mining WASM.  I’m a huge fan and have been involved for a while, so I figure it will not be amiss to suggest it to him. In the meantime I update my curation blog post in the hopes that it will inspire some more conversation  lesson #2 – want to be involved? Be proactive and make moves. 
9-11AM I ping back and forth between checking out who has posted what on twitter, and RT all the #DayofDH posts that come across my feed.  One by  includes idea that we all read 5 blogs we haven’t today, which I sign on for.  I also receive tweet from @anndouglas in regards to conversation yesterday and when a former student of hers @salsababies jumps in, I suggest that in honor of #DayOfDH we should try to spread some love to our mutual friend Andrea O’Reilly who does some really fabulous work on motherhood, so I tweet and ask for RT for her group  lesson #3 use your social media capital to spread the love
Meanwhile Tom has gotten back to me, and he’d at the very least like a tweet for OAH, so I draft and post asking #twitterstorians to RT for me. 
In between all of this I’m still working away on that book review, which @HartmanAndrew has now publicized for me by RT Lesson #4 if you can’t mutitask, set specific time aside for digital


Update the PM
so taking my own lesson #4 I turn off all e-communication from about 11:30-1:30 to finish drafting a book review and then send it to a person I meet IRL, but have become friends with online.  We chat about it, and I make notes for revision later.

I miss #NITLE webinar which is a bummer, but I followed @FrostDavis tweets and will catch up with video.

At 2PM its time for #femlead sponsored by U of Venus.  Our group today is small, but mighty and  (a former women’s center director colleague who I re-found via Twitter)  does a great job moderating, great career advice as always from   is repped by ‏ @mary_churchill  and mid way we are joined by .


At this point, my #DH day is pretty much complete and I transition back over to “other” roles, except of course that I just saw @adelinekoh ask if I updated my day, and I realize I didn’t, so back on the blog I hop.

My day is more intensive than most people’s because I’m on sabbatical.  In the last 11 hours I’ve tweeted or RT over 100 times, and written three blog posts/updates.  It is more difficult to envision how my digital life will work next year when I’m back on campus four days a week. The major downside to not being online constantly is that things move fast and conversations feel “interupted” if you come in late.  The plus side is that there is always someone up and tweeting when you are online!  Overall it feels productive, although I’ve still had a hard time connecting with a lot of historians, which would be really beneficial!  In particular, I’m not getting any traction on promoting WASM at the OAH.  I’ve a plea into @TenuredRadical so hopefully she will pick it up.  U.S. historians are not among the major movers and shakers of the twitterverse though, which is why I’m hoping to be able to convince some more to join in.


