As I’ve been playing around with various digital history tools I’ve been trying to find some way to visualize various manifestos from U.S. women’s liberation in the 1970s. So far I’ve tried many eyes and TAPoR so far. Honestly I think that in the very early 1970s the discursively overlaps between different groups that we loosely cluster under the name “women’s liberation” just might not be there. Other than woman/women the overlaps are nonexistant between FSW brochure and the play Everywoman

 I’m considering using more manifestos. I could probably come up with 10 although they would be of widely disparate lengths. TAPoR can only compare two documents though. My other option is to conclude that despite historians’ desire to lump these groups together, they represent, at least discursively, distinct communities. I largely believe that, at least in the first chapter of my book, in which I trace the triple origins of the concept of women’s culture. However in that chapter, I argue that the same terms were used differently. In the case of manifestos, so far, what I can see it that the only common terms are women/woman. Again, this is interesting or not, depending on the questions asked about the data.

So I’m left still searching for the best way to utilize techniques of digital history to trace disparate discourses in U.S. women’s liberation movement periodicals of the 1970s  I’m particularly interested in various attitudes towards the concept of women’s culture and how culture is related to women’s liberation in various periodicals and to various theoretical perspectives.

