I keep warning tweeps that digital history tools are addictive  After I braved the use of some evidence culled from text mining in my current article (for #AcWriMo), I find myself unable to stop!

I’m currenlty converting Ukeles’ Manifesto from pdf to txt (with ABBYY fine reader express) but wait DOH the PDF is corrupted.   Sigh, re-download, re-try.  YAY it works.

Then scrub scrub (Wheaton) & off to many eyes!  (would be FAB if Many Eyes included stop word function etc)

It is clearly not my early morning* as my first attempt to upload my scrubbed text to many eyes results in something (collegially) called a handshake error.  Second attempt succeeds!

doh just realized that the many eyes word trees were experiment for this blog post.  I need to upload to voyant!!!!  Honestly iIreally need to find a better time than early early morning to work on #DigiWriMo.

So to voyant I go, where the stop word removal function is integrated.  Bam out pops list of most frequent words, which are, well ODD, because of course Ukeles has the most “unique” voice in all the docs I’ve mined so far.   In fact, the results are so singular I can’t even see how I would use them in my paper revision.

 maintenance
         art
  exhibition
      change
         man
     systems
 development
        wash
   container
    instinct

Sigh failz (oh wait, there is no failure, only more opportunities to learn … Manifestos written by individuals vs those by or intended for groups yet another historical line of inquiry to follow, manifestos for art vs manifestos for other purposes? Maybe compare to Mina Loy’s?)

* Further evidence for this? Internet keeps crashing and my coffee pot just overflowed.

