so my #acwrimo has been getting all the love of late, but today I had some time get back to my manifesto project.  Today VALIE EXPORTWomen’s Art. A Manifesto, writing in 1972 for exhibition in Vienna  “MAGNA Feminism: Art and Creativity.”


I skimmed the document for formatting errors, but purposefully tried not to read it.  

Running through Voyant reveals most common word is social, which is a new result for sure. 

Because the document is so short, I could look at all the keywords in context for social, which only appears 7 times.  Two mention men, two more struggle, which got me to questioning connections between men and women in the documents.  

So using collocate clusters, which quite honestly I’m a bit vague on, I confirmed what I thought, the connection is via social which is what I would have predicted from presence of men and man in top 10 frequent words.  Actually reading the text seals, it, yes its emphasizes men’s role in women’s oppressed status.

All of this is quite useful because this document shows that not all feminist art manifestos deal with the feminine. 

Question that could become hypothesis : do documents that claim the label “manifesto” look a particular way when viewed with digital history tools?  My impression is that self proclaimed feminist manifestos are more likely to talk about men’s role oppressing women that feminist manifestos that are not labeled as such by their authors..   

